One Hundred and Twenty Four

A peek into the past – Rameez:

“Rameez!” calls mummy.

I snap out of my stupor with a start.

“What is it? Who did you phone?” asks mummy.

A dog barks somewhere in the distance, causing both mummy and I to jump.

I get up unsteadily and head to the front door.

After making sure it’s closed and locked probably, I check the back door, and then set the alarm.

But it does little in making me feel safer.

“Rameez,” mummy calls again.

“Coming,” I reply, heading back to the kitchen.

“What are we going to do?” she asks shakily, as I sit down.

I take a deep breath, trying to clear my mind.

I reread the WhatsApp conversation on mummy’s phone, stalling at each word even though I’ve memorized the message by now. Then I replay the cold voiced words of the unknown man inside my head.

“I thought you’d never call.”

So he was expecting me to call? He knew I would call??

“What are you thinking?” asks mummy.

“I phoned this number,” I say to her, indicating to the message. “But the person who answered didn’t sound like someone who wanted to give ‘further information’.”

I tell mummy what he said when I called, and how he cut the call when I didn’t speak, all the while staring intently at the screenshot of the message.

Mummy starts saying something, but I put up my hand, indicating for her to wait.

It’s as if someone flicked a switch inside my brain, causing a theory to light up.

If these guys had planned everything out so well, how would it be possible that someone seen it happen?

The ‘witness’ is actually the criminals!

The gears inside my head moving faster now, I read the message again.

Witness is unsure if attempt was successful.

See! What kind of a witness is that?!

Time 18:23.

I do the maths in my head.. Aunty S only got the message at 21:59.. that’s 3 and a half hours from the time the scene was supposedly witnessed. That gives any criminal enough time to safely escape before raising an alarm.

But why raise an alarm??

The wheels are rushing at full speed now..

Carefully scrolling through all mummy’s chats since 5 o’clock, I realize that no one else has forwarded this message. Not even on the group chats who usual forward possibly every single thing they receive!

The message was seemingly only sent to Aunty S. She would obviously send it to mummy, which she did.

Attempted hijacking on Fourth Street. White Range Rover with registration PTD 67 CL. Time: 18:23 Witness is unsure if attempt was successful. No sign of victim exiting vehicle. Any relative of possible victim can call witness on 084 576 8498 for further information. 

The forming theory inside my head comes to an abrupt halt.

Criminals would never put their contact details anywhere. I mean, seriously now, come on! 

So then… for heaven’s sake, why did they?!

They wanted me to call. They knew I would.

But.. why???

download.png

images.jpg


Hey. Hi. Hello. Salaam. Bonjour. Salut. Ciao. Ahoj. Bog. Marhaba. Ola. 😀

Short post is better than no post, don’t fight me!!

I want to hear everyone’s theories so get commenting. Let’s all pretend we’re Sherlock Holmes’ and have a big Troubled Illusioners group chat! 😀 (*whispers* I’ll drop you’ll a hint if I feel generous.) 

Much Love,

Troubled Illusioner. ❤ 

32 thoughts on “One Hundred and Twenty Four

  1. Ok now I’m feeling like Hercule Poirot in one of the Agatha Cristie mysteries. I don’t know much about sherlock so I’ll go for poirot lol *scratching my big bald head with 1 hand and twirling my long luxurious moustaches with another*
    *thinking face*
    #thinkingcapon

    Liked by 2 people

  2. If uncle ismaeel withdrew a large sum of money they wouldn’t ask for a ransom of more money. So maybe they want rameez. They wanted him to call so maybe they want to lure him to a certain place, by telling him where to find his father..but its him they want…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The bank would’ve been closed at the time he with mores the money so maybe he withdrew from an ATM and reached the limit and the money they need is More than that. Or maybe he was involved in some shady deal
    Or it could be from the drug dealers looking for Rameez(if this was when he was doing drugs)

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Maybe uncle Ismail didn’t withdraw the money as it was after hours or he got suspicious and they need to get the money sum how so they staged the hijacking and sent the message to Aunty S as she would probably contact his family and because they love the husband and father make arrangements for the money to be paid to them

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Hhhhmmmmm im not good at guessing but lets try…………

    they want to kidnap meez n his mom mus pay ransom for both of them!!!
    or they knw that uncle ismaeel has more money stashed somwhere lol…….

    #DONTLAUGH

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

