One Hundred and Nine

The Boys’ sleepover (Part 2)

 

As narrated by Meez:

“4 large eggs. 115g icing sugar. 115g caster sugar,” I read the recipe softly. “Hmm.”

Seems simple enough.

“Zee!” I yell. “Where are the eggs?”

“Fridge, duh!” he yells back from the lounge, where he is currently trying to make the tepee.

“It has to be ‘room temperature’!” I say.

“So put it in the room, idiot!” he says in annoyance.

“Alright,” I reply.

Taking out the 4 biggest eggs from the fridge, I put them in a bowl and carry it to Zee’s room.

“How long must I leave it here?” I ask nobody in particular.

Hamza steps out of the bathroom.

“Leave what where?” he asks.

“These eggs! Recipe says it has to be at room temperature,” I reply.

“Ohh,” he says, slightly amused. “I don’t know. Ask Zee. He’ll know.”

Hamza walks out of the room.

“Zee!” I call.

“What?”

I walk to the lounge, bowl of eggs in hand.

He’s watching a YouTube video… on how to assemble a tepee!

“How long must I leave this in the room?” I ask.

He pauses the video and looks up.

“Are you being serious?” he asks, giving me an annoyed look.

“What?” I ask, confused.

“You don’t put eggs in the room for it to get to room temperature, you seaweed brain!!” he says, shaking his head and getting up.

“But.. that’s what you said!” I reply, getting irritated now.

He shakes his head again.

“Your poor wife,” he mumbles, getting up and feeling an egg. “You just have to leave them out of the fridge and wait for them to get a bit warm.”

“Well you could have told me that the first time!” I say indignantly.

“I didn’t know you had a scrambled egg in place of your brain!!” says Zee, rolling his eyes.

Muttering under my breath, I walk out.

Seems like this isn’t going to be as simple as I thought. 


As narrated by Zee:

“Zee!” yells Hamza.

Now what?!

“Yeah?”

“I found your junk stash!” he says, walking into the lounge.

“Yes!!” I exclaim, jumping up. “I need something from there! This tepee is testing my patience!”

“Well I’m afraid that they’ve turned it into a real junk stash,” Hamza says gravely, handing me the jar.

I groan, glancing at all the empty sweet and chocolate wrappers.

Just then my phone pings.

DEE: Can see you very busy building your tepee.. not even answering my calls!

ME: Yes I am! Don’t call me.

DEE: Alright. Your loss.

She sends me a picture of the three of them, faces masks applied.

DEE: We’re one task down. Get moving, slow pokes.

And then she goes offline.

I glance wearily at the tepee materials.

“Whose dumb idea was this?!” I mutter.

“Yours!” replies a voice.

I glance up and see Hamza poking around behind the sofas.

I roll my eyes.

Well, let’s get moving.


As narrated by Hamza:

“Hamza!” calls Meez.

“Yeah?”

“I need the icing sugar thing.”

“I searched the whole darn house and all I’ve found is Zee’s goodies jar!”

“Did you check the kitchen?” asks Zee.

“No, obviously they won’t leave it in the kitchen. What’s the point then?!”

“Well maybe that’s the catch,” answers Zee.

“Never thought of it like that,” I mumble, heading to the kitchen.

And sure enough, there is the icing sugar, on the shelf, in its place!

Shaking my head, I take it out and place it next to the mixing bowl Meez is working with.

I take a quick peek into the bowl… and do a double take, frowning.

What the hell?! 

I stop the machine, and gasp.

“What are you doing?” asks Meez, coming up behind me.

“More like what are you doing?!” I ask in horror.

“Making meringues,” he says, giving me a ‘duh’ look.

“What the heck is that stuff floating all over?”

“The egg,” replies Meez.

My frown deepens.

“The egg?” I ask.

“Yeah! Now move, I’m busy!” says Meez, shoulder shoving me.

I go the lounge.

“Yo, Zee.”

He doesn’t reply, concentrating hard on balancing two sticks against each other.

I wait.

The sticks fall the moment Zee lets them go and he yells.

“What?” he snaps, looking up.

I smirk.

“Someone’s annoyed,” I tease.

“Bruh, I’m usually a patient person, but really this thing is impossible mahn!” he says.

“Since you’re so annoyed, here’s a funny story. I think Meez put the eggs whole in the dessert,” I say grinning.

“What do you mean whole?” asks Zee.

“The whole egg. He didn’t separate the inside from the shell,” I say.

“What?!” asks Zee, looking like he doesn’t know whether to laugh or not, probably unsure if I’m telling him the truth.

“I’m serious,” I say. “Come check.”

We head to the kitchen together.

“Howzit going, bro?” Zee asks Meez, pretending to fill a glass of water for himself.

“Good… I think,” replies Meez. “How does the oven work?”

Zee casually walks over to the mixing bowl and looks inside.

I see him bite back a laugh, his eyes shining with amusement.

“Hey Meez, you separated the egg whites?” he asks.

Meez frowns.

“What do you mean?” asks Meez.

“The recipe says egg whites,” says Zee, holding up the page.

“Yeah I took the lightest eggs. There weren’t white ones.”

Zee shakes his head, laughing.

“Bro, you suppose to crack the egg and separate the white part from the yellow!!”

Meez face pales.

“Not look for eggs the colour of your face!!” Zee adds, laughing harder now.

“Oh my god,” groans Meez. “I put the whole egg in!”

I burst out laughing, unable to hold it any longer.

Meez glares at me, and then before I can duck, an egg whacks me in the face. It cracks and the inside drips onto my bare feet.

“Rameez!” I yell.

And that starts a full on egg fight.

The floor eventually becomes so slippery that we keep on falling when trying to duck each other.

Zee grabs the icing sugar, and tips it above Meez’s head covering his hair and face in white powder.

We’re making such a racket that we don’t hear the back door lock click open as it is expertly undone without a key…


Hey. Hi. Hello. Salaam. Bonjour. Salut. Ciao. Ahoj. Bog. Marhaba. Ola. 😀

Hope everyone’s doing good!

Just a quick but important disclaimer. The meringues recipe is not tried and tested. It’s some random recipe I found on the internet. If you try it, you do so at your own risk!! If it flops, I’ll be waiting to hear the funny story! 😉

Much Love,

Troubled Illusioner. ❤

11 thoughts on “One Hundred and Nine

  1. Lmao😂😂😂
    Meez is soo clueless!😂 this is why we should teach our menfolk the basics in the kitchen,so they don’t starve when we’re not there,despite having the ingredients right infront of them to make themselves a delicious dish!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

