One Hundred

Hey. Hi. Hello. Salaam. Bonjour. Salut. Ciao. Ahoj. Bog. Marhaba. Ola.πŸ˜€

One hundred posts and exactly one year of blogging! What a cool coincidence! πŸ˜‰

JK, I planned this, duh!!Β 

Thanks/JazakAllah for all the support.Β 

Much Love,

Troubled Illusioner. ❀

(P.S. Can’t promise the next post will be very soon, because exaaaams! But hey, at least I didn’t leave ya’ll with a hectic cliffhanger!)


As narrated by Dayyanah:

Pain overtakes my entire body as I sit up slowly, opening my eyes.

Blackness is all I see, which ever way I turn my head.

I move to lift my hands in front of my face… and that is when I realize they’re bound together.

All my senses spike.

I’m still, over alert.

Where am I?

I sniff the air, slowly, cautiously…

A musty smell hits me.

It’s dark – so dark, that despite a window in the far corner, I can’t see anything.

7_dark-room-1

I try moving my legs, but much to my dismay, they’re bound as well.

A slight feeling of anxiety creeps in, heightening my senses further.

I search my memory helplessly, trying to remember how I got here, but my memory is blank.

Where am I?

How did I get here?

Why are my hands and feet tied?

A dull thud overhead breaks through my thoughts.

My fingers, which have been trying to undo the knots at my wrists behind me, freeze.

I listen carefully, straining my ears for any sound.

Faint thuds reach my ears.

What on Earth is that??

An inkling of fear sets in, knotting my insides.

As the sound gets closer, it becomes clearer… and heavier.

Footsteps.

Footsteps… coming towards me!

My mind goes into a mad frenzy.

Who is it?

My thoughts rush around faster than the whirlpool at the bottom of a waterfall.

Perhaps a savior?!

Momentarily my hopes rise…

But then the footsteps stop.

It’s as silent as a graveyard at midnight, and I feel a prickle of goosebumps on my flesh.

A couple of seconds pass…

And then, a creak of hinges break the silence.

A powerful light cuts through the darkness, splitting it.

My heart pounds in my chest as a ladder is dropped down.

choose

The light moves away, leaving the room relatively dark again; just a faint glow coming from the opening overhead.

I watch as a set of shoes appear first…

Then pants..

A shirt..

And finally a face.

The ladder is pulled up, and the piece lifted is dropped back down.

Sweat trickles down my face, as the room returns to its state of opaque darkness.

I am aware that there is now a stranger in the same space as I, and the thought alone makes my hair stand.

The flashlight is switched on again.

It moves quickly around the room, before finally settling on me.

I squint against its powerful glare.

download.jpg

A man. It’s a man.

“Ah, Dayyanah.”

My blood runs cold.

That voice.

Oh my God, that voice.Β 

Paapa.

It’s Paapa – The monster.

 

My eyes fly open, my heart thudding dangerously fast.

My hands, clutching the duvet tightly, are clammy with sweat.

Beside me, my lamp lights the room.

I see my two door wardrobe, my desk, my mirror.

You’re in your own room. Calm down, it was just a nightmare.

My rapid breathing slows.

Images of a dark room flash through my head, his voice ringing in my ears; cold and harsh.

Just a nightmare. Just a nightmare.Β 

Flinging my duvet back, I get up and switch on my main light, leaving the bedside lamp on as well.

That’s better.Β 

I get back into bed just asΒ Nuwaylah walks into my room, wide awake, hair in a messy bun.

“Dayyoo, everything okay?” she asks.

“Yeah,” I reply sleepily. “You’re still studying? It’s late.”

“Ya, just going to finish the section and then I’m going to sleep.”

“Okay,” I say, closing my eyes, pulling the duvet closer.

I sense her presence in the room until I eventually fall into a restless slumber; Troubled Illusions plaguing my mind…

68069fb498679a7cb822791fac89dc16


The scene changes.

This time it’s a hot sunny day. The sky is blue; cloudless.

Dee and I walk home together, sweaty and tired after our grueling gym session.

And then, suddenly, Dee is running.

She’s running and I can’t keep up.

“Dee!” I yell, running in pursuit.

I run and run but I can’t catch up with her.

The sky turns grey and then we’re running through a maze.

High walls surround me, as I take turns based purely on instinct, having lost Dee totally.

My breath becomes labored, and my calves scream in desperation.

I stop to catch my breath, looking around.

And that’s when I see him…

Towering over me, as tall as the walls, his expression is cold, his eyes red.

I gasp in horror as the walls move inwards, lessening the space between us, deepening the darkness surrounding us.

“NO!” I yell.

I turn to run, but there’s no where to run, no where to hide…

Someone shakes me gently.

Groaning miserably, I open my eyes.

Nuwaylah is peering down at me anxiously.

“Nightmares?” she asks quietly.

Closing my eyes, I nod, then whisper..

“Troubled Illusions.”

14 thoughts on “One Hundred

  1. One hundredddddd!!!! Wowwwwwww!

    So proud of u 😘 Well done on one hundred awesome posts!

    And Heres to a few hundred more!! πŸ’–πŸ“πŸŽ‰πŸŒŸ

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MUBARAK! πŸŽ‰β€ You’ve been spamming our email accounts with posts for a year xD. And it’s been ~great~. Because we ~love~ it! And it’s ~always~ fun reading your posts, Masha Allah! 🌻 (I’m going to stop using ~this~ now πŸ˜›πŸ˜…)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

