Seventy One

As narrated by Deeyanah:

According to the Oxford English dictionary, a friend is a person with whom one has a bond of mutual affection, typically one exclusive of sexual or family relations. And among the many definitions in the Urban Dictionary, one defines a friend as someone who is aware of how retarded you are, yet still doesn’t mind being seen with you in public.

Friendship is the hardest thing to explain, because a friend is someone who knows all your faults yet still stands with you. And it’s crazy isn’t it – how someone can know your smallest and biggest fears, your worst and your best moods, your lowest and your highest points, your craziest and your most realistic dreams, yet still they are willing to stand by your side through your saddest and happiest moments of life.

That is a friend – A friend is someone who inspires you, motivates you, believes in you. Someone who puts up with your worst moods. Someone who will laugh at your lame jokes. Someone who understands your craziness without you having to explain it. Someone who knows the reason behind your most heartbreaking tears and your most heartwarming smiles. And friendship is a beautiful thing, but it is not always a life long thing…

The same ‘friend’ who healed your wounds, with so much of love and care, will tear them open all over again. The same person who stopped you from hurting yourself will stab you, right in the center of your back. The same person who you spoke to about your darkest secrets, will spill them to the world, as they said they never would. And the same person who would add ‘forever’ to your ‘Best Friends’, will walk out of your life as carefree as butterfly out of a cocoon. But they won’t walk out empty hand, oh no they won’t.

With them they will take the trust you never thought would be broken, the love you never thought would end, and the happiness you never thought would turn into sadness. And all you will be left with is the poignant feeling of betrayal.

But it does not have to be like that.

A true friend will overlook. They will forgive, even if it is as painful as the sting of hot water against numbed with cold, hands. They will disregard your wrong actions, choosing to let it go, simply because they value your friendship.

This is the case with Meez.

Although his words had hurt me more than I thought it would, I can’t imagine my life without his sarcastic comebacks, his annoying smirk, and our silly arguments -or rather, our conversing in disagreement.

And as I take the stairs two at a time, racing Zee who took the lift, to floor 3 of the hospital, I decide that I will forgive Meez.

In fact, I have already forgiven him.

Simply because I value our friendship.


I wake up the next morning, before my alarm clock, as per habit.

I get up and head to the bathroom to make wudhu (Ablution), pushing back the sight of Maama’s tired black eyes to the furthest corner of my mind.

And as the cold water gradually becomes warm, flowing against my flesh patterned with goosebumps, my sleepiness slips away.

And to my musalla (prayer mat) I walk, each step a reward, all the while thinking about Meez and his confessions.

Meez, who not knowing what to do with his broken self, sat, leaning against his bathroom door, music pouring through his headphones; yet it failed to drown his sorrow.

And even though he had told the truth, he had never felt this guilty since his father’s kidnapping.

And even though he had let go of what he needed to, he felt as if he had never carried such a heavy weight of guilt, since his father’s kidnapping.

Rameez Varachia, the boy who every girl wished to be hers, the boy with a father so rich, that every man wished for such wealth, the boy with a mother so remarkable, that every mother-in-law compared their daughters-in-law to her.

Rameez Varachia, ‘the cool kid’, sat, knees drawn, head hung as he cried uncontrollably, after a long, long time.


Hey. Hi. Hello. Salaam. Bonjour. Salut. Ciao. Ahoj. Bog. Marhaba. Ola.😀

Hope all you beautiful people are doing good. 

Sorry for the short post, life is happening very life like right now!

This will be the last post until Eid now, Insha Allah. [Ramadhaan Mubarak in advance. 😉]

Please make me maaf for any shortcomings from my side and do remember me in your special duaas during the blessed month. 

Don’t forget to spread the word and drop me a comment to let me know what you’re thinking. 

All the love.

❤ ❤ ❤

9 thoughts on “Seventy One

  1. Beautiful post. The things written about friend was so beautiful and correct. Hope dee and meez make amends . I am so eager to know what’s up with amz. Have a blessed month of ramzaan . We will eagerly wait for ur return ……. and ewe will not mind if u give us few surprise post.😊. Thank u for such a lovely post. Ramadan Mubarak.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t want to write about Amz now, because the suspense would have killed ya’ll! But it’ll come soon, don’t worry. 😉
      Surprise posts… hmmm, I’ll try. No promises though!
      You’re welcome and thank youuuu. ❤

      Like

    • Sorrrrry! I am a highly inexperienced blogger -still making mistakes! (Also, I was fasting!) It was suppose to go up on Saturday and I mistakenly put it up today, so then I deleted it. But now I feel bad, so it’s back up. Go read and let me know what you think. Sorry for the inconvenience. ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

  2. Salaam I hope you enjoyed the blessed month of Ramadan. I just emailed you the first BEAT of my novel draft I hope you enjoy it. I am so sorry i took so long (months) I was working (and still working) on a software engineering project so its been hectic. I hope Eid was lekker and shukran. Tell me what you think about the draft once you’ve read it INSHALLAH, shukran

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

