Sixty Eight

As narrated by Sumayya:

“Buuuut mummy, she’s still a kid. They enjoy these things!”

“No, we are not throwing a birthday party for Tayyiba, Sumayya. And that’s the end of it!”

“I’m not saying we must throw a party! Just call some of her friends over, bake her a cake, and maybe hire out a jumping castle. That’s all!”

“Well that’s called a party!”

“Mummy -”

“That’s enough Sumayya. I said no. And I do not want to hear another word about this. Throwing a party is completely unislaamic and if we allow it now when she’s young, she’ll want it all her life!”

I roll my eyes in annoyance.

Really?! What harm did a little birthday party ever do?!

I thought about asking Abba but then decided against it. If I couldn’t get through mummy, it’d be a miracle if Abba even heard me out!

Seriously my parents needed to like, chill out sometimes yoh!

Annoyed, I head to my room to finish my homework.

Just as I open my textbook, an idea strikes me.

So what if my parents don’t want me to throw Tayyiba a party?

I’ll still do it.

They just won’t know.

And  it will be the best birthday party ever!


As narrated by Zee:

It had been a hectic day at school and I really need to unwind.

It’s definitely time to bake!

Changing into pj’s, I pick up my phone and head downstairs.

Ma is reading salaah which works out perfectly -I have the kitchen to myself!

Slipping on an apron, I pull out a few recipe books, in hope of finding something new and different to bake.

But I eventually just settle for a standard coffee cake, which I’ve baked before.

Once the batter is whipped up, I pop it into the oven, set the timer and grab my phone.

WhatsApp Chat – Meez:

ME: u’re alive?

He replies a couple minutes later.

MEEZ: Just about….

ME: Twas that bad?

MEEZ: Dude it was one of the most difficult things I’ve done in my life

ME: What’d she say

MEEZ: Nothing

ME: Was she ‘guard going up, water going down’

MEEZ: U know it bro

MEEZ: Now what?

ME: Now u change ur life bcz she’ll be killing u soon 

ME: Am sure u don’t want to die how u’re currently living

MEEZ: THIS IS NOT A TIME FOR YOUR BLOODY JOKES ZEE SHUT THE HELL UP

ME: Sorry

MEEZ: I know she’s going to be mad af, u don’t need to rub it in

ME: Actually… I don’t think so

MEEZ: Wdym? (What do you mean?)

ME: She’s too broken

ME: For her it’s just like ‘oh, just another disappointment, nothing I can’t handle’  

download

I call Dee; speed dial 4.

“Hello?”

Wow, she answered!

“Hey, what’s up?”

“Hmm.. nothing really. Watching the world from my window…”

“Isn’t it a lovely world?”

“A lovely world with not so lovely people, yeah.”

I don’t say anything simply because I don’t know what to say.

“Zee, did you know?”

“Know what?” I ask, feigning ignorance.

“You know what I’m talking about.”

Meez.

“Yeah…”

“Why didn’t you tell me?”

“It wasn’t for me to say, Dee.”

Neither of us say anything for a while and I realize that, maybe, calling her wasn’t such a good idea.

She clearly doesn’t want to talk about it.

“Is Amz by you?” she asks, breaking the silence.

“No, why?”

“Just wondering, because she’s not here.”

“Oh.”

“Yeah, she’s out from this afternoon.”

“That’s strange.”

“I guess she just needed a break from me and my negative energies.”

“And maybe you need a break from your negative energies as well.”

images (1)

“Is your grandfather at home?” she asks, ignoring my statement.

“Yeah, why?

“Can he take me to the hospital please. I didn’t get a chance to visit Daanyaal this afternoon.”

“I’m sure he won’t mind. Hang on, let me just ask him.”

I go to the lounge where my grandfather is sitting, reading a newspaper.

“Naana (grandfather)?”

He looks up. “Jee beta (Son)?”

“Could Naana take Deeyanah to the hospital, please? She wants to see her brother.”

“Of course. Does she want to go now?”

Putting my phone at my ear again, I ask, “Dee, you want to go now?”

“Yeah, if your grandfather doesn’t mind.”

“Jee, Naana, she wants to go now,” I say to my grandfather.

“Okay,” he says, closing his newspaper and getting up.

The timer goes off in the kitchen and I hurry to check my baking.

“Hang on a sec, Dee. Cake needs to come out of the oven.”

I grab an oven mitt and take out the baked cake.

The strong coffee aroma immediately hits my senses and I grin.

I can’t wait to eat this!

Placing the cake on a cooling rack, I switch off the oven and then pick up my phone.

“Sorry, just needed to save the cake.”

“Did you burn it?”

“I don’t ever burn my baking,” I gloat, jokingly.

“By the way, Naana said he’ll be there in 5 minutes.”

“Oi, I need to go then. You’re coming with, I hope?”

Duuh, see you in a bit.”

Covering the cake with a net, I speedily tidy the kitchen, leaving the dishes to wash later.

I slip on a kurta (Men’s Islaamic wear) over my pj’s and attempt to neaten my messy hair – which I fail at, as usual.

Together, Naana and I go, to fetch Dee, for a visit to the hospital.

images

6 thoughts on “Sixty Eight

  1. Glad u mentioned the birthday party thing. It is Unislamic & there is no chilling factor regarding it. If it were allowed, there surely would be some hadeeth about either our Nabi (SAW) or the Sahaabah ( RA ) celebrating. But there isn’t so it’s proof enough that we should not be doing it. In actual fact we are to make 2 rakaats of Salaatus shukr for Allah Ta’ala giving us life & allowing us to see the day. Thats it in my opinion.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Indeed, sister, your words reflect my thoughts! It is sad how some Muslim children throw tantrums for such things and the parents give in. But more about that in the next post. 😉 May Allah guide us all.
      Shukran for your comment. ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

