Thirty Three

As narrated by Meez:

The pungent smell of dust, paint, and urine, combined, makes my head spin. I focus on the faint yellow light in the distance, trying to keep the contents in my stomach down. Usually when ‘The light at the end of the tunnel’ is mentioned, a spark of hope ignites in one’s heart. Not in this case. At the end of this tunnel, was hell. And I didn’t want to go there. The thick wad of notes rubbed against my leg as I stumbled. Regaining my balance, I stop. “All you have to do is turn around and run,” my mind whispers in my ear. But I cannot do that. I will not do that, because behind that battered wooden door, where that gleam of light shines, as dull as my hope, is my father.Β 

Feeling my phone vibrate under my pillow, I open my eyes.

I squint against the bright glare, trying to read the screen. Why the heck is my screen setting so bright?!

Incoming call from Nabz.

Why is she phoning me now??

Not bothering to put on a T-shirt, I slip out of the room into the corridor.

Leaning against the wall, I answer.

“Hey you.”

“Hello handsome. Did I wake you up?”

Oh God. It actually feels so good to hear her voice.

“Yeah, but it’s okay. How you doing?

“Not too bad. I miss your face though.”

“Can’t say the same. Cape Town’s got some hot chics,” I tease.

“What do you mean?” she asks.

I instantly hear the change in her voice. Goddammit why are girls so overprotective?!

“I’m just kidding princess, I miss you too.”

“I wish you were here, it’s so beautiful on this side. I’m thinking of relocating!”

“As long as you take me with.”

I smile. That sounds like a plan..

And just like that, we ended up speaking for an hour. We probably would have spoke for longer had she not fallen asleep!

Before going back to bed, I decide to check up on the girls.

I open the door. The room is pitch black. Wow, I thought Sumayya didn’t like the dark. Flipping the switch on a lampshade, I scan the room.

Oh shit!

Panic seizes me as I move Dee’s duvet, only to find the bed empty and long gone cold.


Oh, look… I posted a day early! Well done to me!

Go ahead, press those like and follow buttons!

Let me know your thoughts in the comments section πŸ™‚

Much Love ❀

9 thoughts on “Thirty Three

Leave a Reply

