Twenty Seven

As narrated by Zee:

One hour on the road and everyone is fast asleep except for Dee, Hamza and I. That obviously meant annoy-as-many-people-as-you-can time.

Rameez sat in front with Uncle Ismaeel. Dee, Amz and Su sat in the middle. Which meant Hamza and I at the back.

Dee was busy reading a book. Probably Harry Potter. Seriously, that’s all she reads!

Now c’mon, can’t you feel how boring it’s in here?!

“Bro, I’m bored,” I say to Hamza, grabbing his phone out of his hand.

“Heyyy, give that back!” he whisper-shouts, trying to grab it back.

“Only if you help me entertain myself,” I say.

He bursts out laughing.

“Okay, okay, c’mon first give me my phone,” he says.

“Nope, first entertain me,” I say, smirking.

“Shut up you two,” says Dee, from the front.

Grabbing her book, I say, “Make me.”

“Zeeee, give that back!” moans Dee.

“Nopey, nope.”

“Oh my Gawwwwd, you’re SO annoying!” she says, dramatically. “Give it back. NOW!”

“Whatcha gonna do if I don’t?” I ask smirking.

“Oh never mind, I don’t want it,” she says, pretending not to be annoyed.

Now that is annoying! Heck man, I’m annoying you for a reason! Get annoyed!

Well, might as well read this book since there’s nothing else to do.

Using my distraction as an opportunity, Hamza grabs his phone.

“Oh never mind, I don’t want it,” I say, imitating Dee, who is now looking out the window.

She turns around and rolls her eyes.

“Why don’t you just sleep?! We’ll have so much peace!” complains Dee.

“I’m bored,” I say to her.

“That’s obvious enough.”

A moment of silences passes.

“Dee, I’m bored.”

“Okay.”

“Dee, I’m bored.”

This time she ignores me.

“Deeyanaaaah!”

“FOR PETE’S SAKE ZEE, SHUT UP! HOW OLD ARE YOU EVEN?!”

“Last time I checked I was fourteen.”

“Well how about you start behaving like a fourteen year old instead of a cranky two year old who needs a nappy change!”

“Okay.”

“Good.”

Silence again…

Then, I pull off her beanie.

Who the heck wears a beanie in summer?!

Deeyanah Mahomed, that’s who!

She turns around to face me, annoyance written all over her face.

“I’ll give it back if you entertain me,” I say.

“Entertain your self!”

“That’s what I’m doing,” I say, smirking.

She sighs.

“Alright, what do you want to do?”

Leave a Reply

