Four

As soon as I get home from school that afternoon, I change out of my school uniform into casual, comfy clothes. After putting aside my schoolbag, I freshen up a bit before going downstairs to make some lunch. Amaani always lectures me on the importance of eating well during exams. It helps you concentrate she says. It’s obviously always important to eat but more so when you are studying. And trust me, for some odd reason, using brain power actually makes you very hungry!

After lunch and salaah, I get started with studying. I’ve barely studied a page when Amaani walks in.

“Meez wants us go over to his place to study,” she says.

I frown. The only subject we normally study together is Math, English and sometimes Afrikaans. I guess because we have different ways of studying, we usually get more done on our own, in this instance.

“But we’re writing history,” I say.

“Yeah, I told him the same thing and then he’s just like, ‘okay’ and he hung up.”

“You go ahead if you want, I don’t think I’ll…”

I’m cut off by the sound of my phone ringing. It’s Rameez.

“Hello there.”

“Salaam, Dee, salaam. How many times must I teach you?”

“Sorry. sorry, Assalaamualaikum Mr. Varachia.

“Wa’alaikumsalaam missy.”

I wait for him to say something but he doesn’t.

“Yes Meez, how may I help you?”

Silence. I frown. I don’t have time for his games right now since I’m busy studying.

“Rameeeez. Helllloo.”

“Yeah?”

“Did you phone to say we must come over to study at your place?”

“Maybe..”

“Meez, cut the small talk, I need to study! Why did you call? Is it anything urgent?” I ask, starting to get annoyed now.

“Wow, you’re in a very nice mood,” he replies, sarcastically. “Call me back when you feel less snappy because I may have done something stupid and I need your help…”

And he cancels the call.

2 thoughts on “Four

  1. Oooh! The drama begins! I like! This is a really good story with an intriguing story line.👏 I can’t wait to see what’s gonna happen next!
    💫👑

    Like

Leave a Reply

